Home » Uncategorized » Top Young Adult Fiction Awards of the Year

Top Young Adult Fiction Awards of the Year

Young adult fiction has taken the world by storm in recent years, captivating readers of all ages with its unique blend of adventure, romance, and drama. And as the popularity of this genre continues to soar, so too do the number of awards and accolades that are bestowed upon the works that have captured our hearts and minds.

From the prestigious Michael L. Printz Award to the thrilling Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Young Adult Novel, there are countless honors that recognize the best and brightest in young adult fiction. These awards not only celebrate outstanding writing but also help to bring attention to new authors and emerging trends in storytelling.

As we continue to read, explore, and discover new works in this exciting genre, it’s important to take a moment to appreciate those who are shaping it and pushing its boundaries. So join us as we dive into the world of young adult fiction awards – a world full of heroes, heroines, villains, magic, romance and so much more!

2019 Finalists: Young Adult Fiction

2019 Finalists: Young Adult Fiction


Young adult fiction has become increasingly popular over the years. With so many talented authors focusing on this genre, it’s no surprise that there are several awards dedicated to recognizing their work each year. In this article, we will take a look at some of the top young adult fiction awards of the year.

1. Michael L

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature …

Printz Award

This award is given annually to books that exemplify literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named after Michael L. Printz, who was a school librarian and an advocate for young adult literature. The award is administered by the American Library Association and has been around since 2000.

2. The William C

2019 Finalists: Young Adult Fiction

Morris YA Debut Award

The Morris Award is presented each year to a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens. This award was established in honor of William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing literature to young adults.

3. Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award

The Poet X Wins the 2019 Walden Book Award | Elizabeth Acevedo

The Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award is presented annually by the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN) to honor the lifetime achievement of Amelia Elizabeth Walden – teacher, editor, and inspirer – in promoting literacy engagement through quality young adult literature.

4. The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book Awards

Children’s Book Council of Australia Awards 2015 – Tristan Bancks

The CBCA Book Awards are one of Australia’s most prestigious children’s literary awards series and have been running since 1945. There are five categories: Older Readers , Younger Readers , Early Childhood , Picture Book , and Eve Pownall .

5. YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

ALA Youth Media Awards | News and Press Center

This award recognizes the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov-Jan publishing year with exemplary research, excellent presentation, and readability.

In conclusion:

These awards recognize the hard work and dedication of young adult fiction authors and illustrate the importance of literature for young adults. By winning one of these awards, authors can further establish themselves in the genre and inspire future generations of writers.

Leave a Comment